Dafydd ap Gwilym logo



We are indebted above all to the AHRC for the financial support over five years which made this project possible.

Grants were also received from the University of Wales (Thomas Ellis Memorial Fund) towards the costs of the manuscript images, and from the Arts Council for Wales to fund the concert held to celebrate the launch of the website.

Dafydd Johnston, A. Cynfael Lake (Swansea University), Huw M. Edwards (University of Wales Aberystwyth) and Dylan Foster Evans (Cardiff University) wish to thank their institutes for granting them sabbatical periods to work on this project.

We are very grateful to Professor Geraint H. Jenkins, Director of the Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies, Aberystwyth, for allowing our research assistant to use the Centre’s facilities for four years.

All the members of the project Steering Committee have been extremely generous with their time. We would like to acknowledge in particular the valuable help received from Professor Emeritus D. J. Bowen, Professor Emeritus R. Geraint Gruffydd, Mr Daniel Huws and Dr Ann Parry Owen.

The digitised images of the manuscripts were provided by the National Library of Wales, and we are also grateful for permission to show them on our website, and to Mr Scott Waby for his patient assistance.

Thanks are also due to the staff of the Recording Centre at Swansea University for all their help.

A number of pictures were provided at a reduced rate or free, and we are grateful to the following for their generosity: Peter Wakely (English Nature), Sue Tranter, Arthur Grossett, Charles and Patricia Aithie, Eugene Hood, Adri de Groot, Spink, Malene Thyssen, Richard Ford, Ifor ap Dafydd, BS Thurner Hof.



Developed and Maintained by Digital Humanities at Swansea University | Hawlfraint - Prifysgol Abertawe / Copyright - Swansea University | Rhestr Cerddi / Poem List